“In the morning, Lord, you hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before you and wait expectantly.”                                 Psalm 5:3
David is often referred to as a man after God’s own heart. This is despite all of his flaws. I believe he is called that because he sincerely sought after God, even though he did mess up over and over. He continually relied on God, and always repented and returned to God when he did mess up or fall away. I believe Psalm 5:3 is an excellent example of that.
The first half simply reminds God that David is praying first thing in the morning. He’s confident enough to go to God and say “you hear me in the morning.” I don’t think he could say that if he wasn’t doing it every single day. Then the last two words are what really strike me about this verse. David has confidence in God. He has complete trust that God will follow through and answer his requests.
These are two things I wish I could say I always mirror in my own life, but that wouldn’t be true. I sometimes pray in the morning, as soon as I wake up, but there are other days I might not even speak to God at all. There are some requests I fully trust God to answer (whether it’s how I would like it answered or not I never know), and could say I “wait expectantly” for them. Most of the time, I tend to get more frustrated because God is taking too long or not answering things how I want Him to.
I think the greatest compliment I could ever receive would be for someone to say I’m a man after God’s own heart. I believe speaking to God first thing in the morning when I wake up is one way to do it. Trusting in His timing and His answers to my requests (since God does know much better than I do) would be another. Perhaps if you would like to hear that same compliment, these are two things you can do to take steps in the right direction.

