Judges 17:6 says: “In those days Israel had no king; everyone did as they saw fit.” I found myself asking whether or not this is how I lived. What I mean by that, is whether or not I live with God as truly king in my life, or whether I just say He is and then just go on doing what I think is best. So often I don’t go to God and ask whether a decision I’m making is the right one. I just think it is a good idea and do it if I want.

That’s not how I should be living though. The Israelites continually turned away from God, doing whatever they felt like doing, and it always led to their persecution and eventual destruction as a nation. God cares about each and every choice we make. He wants to be involved in the decision making process, even if it’s something trivial. Something that seems small and insignificant could lead to something big later on down the road.

Right now is a great time to take a survey of all the areas of your life and see if you’re asking God for help in making decisions in each one. Are you seeking His guidance in financial decisions? Relational ones? Ones affecting school or work? Are you asking Him where He wants you to serve, or are you just serving where you most want to? The Israelites never thought they were making bad decisions. The NLT version says they did what was right in their own eyes. The problem with that, is that our own eyes are blinded by selfish desires and sin. God can see through all of that and tell us whether the choice we are making is actually good or not. Turn to God in every single situation, in every single decision. Make sure the King of your life approves what you’re doing, not just yourself.

