Joshua 1:8 says “Keep this Book of the Law always on your lips; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful.”

This is what God said to Joshua after Moses had died, and Joshua was becoming the leader of the Israelites. He was telling Joshua to always be talking about the Scriptures. They didn’t have the entire Bible as we do now, but they still had enough to always be talking about it. How little do we talk about the Bible now, when we have so much more than the Israelites did at that point? I know that outside of church or church events, the Bible is not a topic of conversation very often. Yet God is telling Joshua, right before he takes charge, to always keep it on His lips. Not just to be talking about it, but to meditate on it day and night. God wanted Joshua to be talking and thinking about the Word constantly.

God didn’t just tell this to Joshua as a command and only a command. He gave Joshua a promise with it. That if Joshua actually followed through and meditated on the Word, and talked about it, that “then you will be prosperous and successful.” It’s funny how often I complain about things not going my way, yet this is an obvious verse about why that may be. I know that a lot of times, my plans and ideas are not God’s ideas or plans for me. It’s when I’m digging into His Word, when I’m really spending time with Him in prayer and focusing on God throughout the day that I actually can get a glimpse as to what God wants me to be doing. That’s when things start to go right for me, when I’m actually doing the things I know that God is calling me to do.

So if you feel like things are going poorly for you, or that lately a lot of things have been going wrong, read this verse and think about it. Are you keeping the Book of the Law always on your lips? Are you meditating on it the entire day so that you can follow it? Or, are you more often like me, and you’ll talk about it once or twice a week and that’s it? That you’ll think briefly about the Bible during your daily quiet time but nothing besides then? I encourage you to really spend your time meditating on God’s Word. Maybe it’s this verse, maybe it’s another passage God has been trying to get you to focus in on, but spend your day thinking about God’s Word, His promises, what He says about you, what He says to do or not to do, or what He’s been teaching you. Just spend time thinking about God and the amazing love story the Bible holds.

