God loves you. It doesn’t matter what you’ve done today. It doesn’t matter what you did yesterday, this year, or at any point in your entire life. God loves you no matter what. Jesus still sacrificed Himself for you two millennia ago even if you’re caught up in sin today. There are times this is so hard for me to believe. I get so focused on the good and bad things I do that I forget that the point is the relationship with God.

There are so many times I give into a temptation and beat myself down over it because I messed up over the same sin I always give in to. I’ll look down on myself because after years of following Christ I still struggle with some of the same things I did when I first dedicated my life to Him. I look at all my mess ups and mistakes and the countless times I don’t even try to fight temptation and just give in to it and sin. I see myself as unworthy, not good enough, and unlovable. That’s not true though. We might all fall short of God, but Jesus came to earth and died so that wouldn’t matter. Jesus loves us so much, that He chose to die rather than spend eternity away from us.

It’s easy to feel like God doesn’t love you. It’s easy for me, I know that much. Let me remind you though, that even on your very worst day, if you are not hearing “beloved,” then it’s not God’s voice that you’re hearing. God says that you are fearfully and wonderfully made. He calls you His friend, His son/daughter, and over and over again the Bible says that God loves you.

The next time that you hear a lie saying that you are not good enough, that you’re a screw up, or anything else, stop and ask yourself “Would Jesus say this about me?” Then you can remind yourself of what He does say about you over the lie that tries to break you.

